Smart Gilas beats USA, wins 2012 Jones Cup Championship

Smart Gilas once again came out strong in the final stretch of the game by taking down USA, 76-75, to win the 34th William Jones Cup International Basketball Championship at the Taipei PE College Gymnasium Sunday.

The PH National Team struggled in the early goings as they were outscored, 34-23, and outrebounded, 27-15, after the first half.

The Philippines National Team fighting back from a 13-point deficit with 1:11 in the third quarter, 59-46, unleashed a 5-0 run to close the period, 59-51.

The fourth and final period once again was an all Smart-Gilas show as they opened the quarter with another 10-0 burst with the smallest guy in the team, LA Tenorio, scoring 7 points and Gabe Norwood chipped in 3 points to make the score 61-59 with 8:25 left in the game to give the Gilas its first lead since the first quarter.

Alaska point guard Tenorio scored 20 points, including the go-ahead basket off the screen of Marcus Douthit, 76-74, with 18 seconds to go.

The Philippines outscored the Americans 25-16 in the fourth quarter and 53-41 in the second half.

The scores:

Smart Gilas 76 – Tenorio 20, Chan 18, Douthit 17, Fonacier 9, Norwood 5, de Ocampo 2, David 5, Mercado 0.

4 Filipino teams have won the William Jones Cup International Basketball Campionship:

1981 - Northern Consolidated Cement (coach Ron Jacobs)
1985 - San Miguel Beer (coach Ron Jacobs)
1998 - Philippine Centennial Team (coach Tim Cone)
2012 - Smart Gilas 2.0 (coach Chot Reyes)

Jones Cup Champions and runner ups:

YearChampionSecond placeThird place
1977 American Challenger Eastern Washington Flying Camel
1978 American Buluside Korea American College
1979 not held
1980 Sweden United States Panama
1981 Northern Consolidated Cement Sweden France
1982 United States Canada France
1983 United States Scotland Italy
1984 United States Canada Netherlands
1985 San Miguel Beer United States Sweden
1986 United States Korea Japan
1987 West Germany United States Australia
1988 United States Australia Korea
1989 not held
1990 Mexico Poland United States
1991 United States Soviet Union Korea
1992 Marathon Oil USK Praha United States
1993 University of Hawaii Hung Kuo Ukraine Sparta
1994 United States Yulong Hungary
1995 United States Slovak RepublicMacro states
1996 Canada Russia United States
1997 Kangoo Jumps Statyba Guanghua
1998 Philippine Centennial Team Taiwan Korea
1999 Korea Taiwan New Zealand
2000 New Zealand Korea Taiwan
2001 Taiwan Korea Russia
2002 Great Mates Canada Japan
2003 not held
2004 Taiwan White Canada Perth Wildcats
2005 Passing Lane Taiwan Philippines
2006 Athletes in Action Canada Qatar
2007 Jordan Lebanon Philippines
2008 Jordan United States Australia
2009 Iran Jordan Lebanon
2010 Iran Lebanon Japan
2011 Iran Korea Philippines
2012 PhilippinesIran United States

#Country Gold Silver Bronze
1 United States1555
2 Philippines403
3 Iran300
4 Taiwan252
5 Jordan210
6 South Korea150
7 Canada150
8 Australia112
9 Sweden111
10 New Zealand101

Please Feel FREE to SHARE this post with your FRIENDS...



All videos posted on were hosted on third party streaming service and websites available freely on the internet and copyright of their respective owners. only contains embedded links and all visual contents solely belongs to its respective owners. do not host or upload any videos, films or media files. provides no warranty, expressed or implied, as to the accuracy, reliability or completeness of furnished data. Therefore, accepts no responsibility for any errors concerning the generation of the official results by the PRC and PCSO. Results posted here are deemed unofficial. We recommend that you check the website of the PRC and PCSO for the official results. is not in any way connected with the PRC and PCSO.

All photos found on this site are not owned by and are taken from sources made available to the public. Credit is given when known for all material found throughout this website.

If you own the rights to any of the articles, images or videos and do not wish them to appear on the site please contact us and they will be promptly removed.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...